A time for everything

By turnx3

New life!

(running behind with my blips again!)
Monday
A beautiful sunny warm day today. I was out at Book Club this afternoon. Most of us live in Montgomery or Madeira, roughly adjacent neighbourhoods, but two of the ladies live down in Hyde Park, a neighbourhood closer to the centre of Cincinnati, so five of us car-pooled. It was our first visit to S. who lives in a big old house (1895 she told us), full of character, with a porch across the front, and a little turret at the top. Inside, there’s a lot of dark wood, fancy carved banisters. They’ve lived there for over forty years. We amazingly had everyone there today - 12:of us, including a new lady who joined us today. I’ve been going to Book Club, for over two years, and I don’t remember another occasion when we had full attendance! There’s always someone who’s out of town, got visitors, is ill or got an appointment! We had a great discussion on the book, The Violin Conspiracy by Brendan Slocumb, a great debut novel. There were occasional sections we thought were a bit weak or far fetched, but overall we all enjoyed it and thought it made a great read, so I definitely recommend it.
When I got back home, Roger was still at work in the garden, putting fertilizer down on the grass, so I took myself off for a walk in the afternoon sun, enjoying the various signs of new life bursting forth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.