The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The mansion, Stratford park, Stroud

Today would have been my maternal grandmother's 119th birthday. She was 78 when she died on Valentine's day 1986. The significance of today's date didn't register straight away, I admit. I was concerned with the non-appearance of the pest control man, as I'd  been waiting in for him. Eventually I phoned the council and they told me that his visits are timed TWO weeks apart, not one! The little scrabbling creatures can still be heard above our bedroom and in the walls. 
That is, unless I'm mad and am imagining it . 

Later, Steve gave me a lift to town and I walked to the museum in the park, where I had been invited to an exhibition. One of my clients had been signposted to an art course, and has just finished it. The participants' work was displayed on the walls of Gallery 2. All the exhibitors were there, including my client, and we were served tea and cake. I chatted to my client and the tutor, and accidentally recruited a new client. 

Then I walked home. I've done my 8,000 steps today, just. Today has been an absolutely glorious day, filled with sunshine. I've spent a great deal of time reading Between two kingdoms by Suleika Jaouad, a leukaemia survival memoir by a remarkable writer, a young woman who was diagnosed at the age of 22. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.