An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Bring me sunshine...

Woke to another wet and cold morning. D's Golf with Adrian was cancelled.  Nothing else for it but to have a productive rather than fun based day :-)

I mentioned the other day that I had exciting news well exciting for me about my little painting studio.  Well it's this...D is going to clear all his stuff off his desk in the studio so I can have it as a permanent space to prepare and stretch my watercolour paper, fit mounts to finished paintings, frame paintings, and generally any tasks other than actual painting.  I am so excited about this as it means I don't have to keep clearing my table and scrubbing any stray paint off it for fear it may contaminate the picture mounts etc.  

He only uses his desk a couple of times a month so we came up with a plan where he will retain all the drawers in the desk bar one (where I will store my masking tapes, scissors, Stanley knives and paper cutter) and D will use my Grandpa's writing desk in the living room when there's household admin to be done. 

This of course necessitated a clear out of said writing desk.  What a hoot that was as not sure we've touched the contents since we moved here almost thirteen years ago!

The drawers mainly contained gift bags and wrapping paper along with a load of banners and balloons heralding various celebrations (21st / 40th / 50th / retirement) but the fold down desk part revealed a few treasures:-

- A photo taken on Alan's first day of school (see extra)
- Our Silver Wedding Anniversary cards (ten years ago come August!)
- Happy New Home cards from our move here.
- An old address book, which made sad reading as many of the addressees
  are no longer with us.
- The little china dish belonging to my gran that still contains all the silver
  sixpences she used to put in her clootie dumplings.
- And the pièce de résistance...a note book from my teenage years (age 17-18) full of the most cringeworthy doodles, notes to myself, poetry (mine and other's) song lyrics and even a few Shakespeare sonnets!  I lost a good hour going through that!  Oh the embarrassment lovely memories it brought back!  :-)))

As ever with these clear out jobs, we ran out of steam.  The weather had improved and the sun appeared so that was D's cue to disappear to the Driving Range.  I got five of my crochet squares for the wedding blanket and had my first ever attempt at spray blocking.  I decided to just do five till I am sure I am doing it correctly, and if I am, I will do the rest.

Poor Alan is loaded with the cold.  He looked so miserable early in the day, but by this evening his nose had cleared a bit and he was watching some comedy film with Blake and having a right old giggle to himself.

Dinner then Gogglebox then I dozed off so playing catch up again! 


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.