Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flower Friday - Elephant’s Ears

Wow - what a busy day! Up very early to empty the clutter out of the car and take it to the dealer for a service and MOT. Walked the mile back from there to home, and finished clearing stuff off the floor etc ready for the cleaners at half past nine. Walk up to The Exchange for a welcome hour’s sit down with my customary latte and toasted tea cake and a giggle with the staff. Walk home again, put all the stuff back after the cleaners. Fix a quick lunch, then walk over to St Luke’s to help three friends prepare the cups, saucers, glasses, teapot, coffee, sugar etc etc for the refreshments after dear Gwyneth’s funeral service, which started at two o’clock. It was sad to say goodbye to another friend and contemporary of Mum and Dad’s (she reached the age of 93), but the service reflected the love, kindness and care for others which was the hallmark of Gwyneth, and also her great love for animals, especially cats and dogs. All went well at the wake, and we made drinks for about 60 or so people. Even though we were only doing the drinks, we were on our feet for a good couple of hours, with lots of crockery and cutlery to wash up afterwards. It was exhausting, but I was happy to do one last thing for Gwyneth, especially in this season of Lent where, rather than give something up, I prefer to try and do things for others. I will miss Gwyneth’s friendly twinkle - she always made everyone welcome, especially newcomers, and was great company. Rest in peace, lovely lady.

Straight after finishing the clearing up at the church, I walked back to the dealers to collect the car. My indicator clicks and reversing sensor warning beeps stopped working a couple of months ago, though all the lights function normally. To fix the lack of audio would have cost about £800, so I’ve decided to make do without any sound. After I’ve moved permanently to Tiptree I shall get a newer car, so it’s just not worth the cost to fix the audio. As I’d emptied the car out, I took the opportunity to have it cleaned inside and out at the local hand car wash. Home for the final time, and having put all my clobber back in the car, I collapsed in a heap for the rest of the evening. Phew!

Some slightly unusual blooms for Flower Friday. This is Bergenia Crassifolia, or Elephant’s Ears, which gives good ground cover in my back garden and stops weeds from coming up. It blossoms in the spring, but doesn’t keep its flowers for all that long so I’m enjoying them outside the back door while I can. Thanks to BikerBear for hosting :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.