Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Train woes

A great night's sleep despite yesterday's problems.

At our Northampton depot today for a meeting with management to discuss a project I'm owning. It went really well and we've agreed a way forward.

Our final ESG review with our investors today, next year it goes to the global business only. The global head of sustainability was there, so I thought I'd make a point of what we've done since we've been owned by the investor and thanked them for their help and feedback. They gave us great feedback after my comments and I will miss that contact.

Then off home on the train. I walked into Northampton train station and straight away there was chaos. The line north to Birmingham was blocked and all trains were cancelled. Thankfully there was a helpful man on the customer desk and he said my best solution was to travel south to London Euston and then get across to Paddington and catch my train home, as my ticket was still valid.

Thankfully that journey went really well and I was able to catch the train from Paddington. Lucky was finally on my side, when the train was only 5 carriages instead of the 10, so it meant seat reservations didn't apply. I got my seat and sod the rest of them. Lol!

The message on the board on the tube was rather appropriate I thought.

Arrived home after 8pm, an hour later than originally planned.

I think I will sleep really well tonight.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  A positive project meeting
2.  The positive feedback from our investors
3.  A very helpful man on the customer desk at Northampton train station
4.  Getting home without much bother after the initial disaster

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.