The second half of life..

By twigs

Black Falcons

Thanks to AndrewNZ who prompted me yesterday about an aerobatic display from the RNZAF's Black Falcons over Tahuna Beach today.  Wow!  Only just made it to the beach in time though and unsurprisingly, traffic was a bit crazy!  Soooooo many people down on the beach for the fly-overs too which was great to see.

On then on to what I had originally intended to do - head to the Open Day at Port Nelson (extra).  Another wow from me, but for very different reasons.  Quite possibly the highlight ended up being a guided tour bus trip round the area, lead by the Port's CEO, Hugh Morrison.  Couldn't have picked a better tour guide - so much knowledge, so many figures, so much history.......absolutely fascinating.  I'm not going to try to repeat some of that information and risk getting it wrong.......this brief history is a great, easy-read summary of some of the history of the Port development.  I've always known Nelson Port was built on reclaimed land and is one of the country's busiest ports, but the scale and figures was more impressive than I'd imagined.  A series of images showing the history of the Port were my other favourite bit of the open day.........would love to see them collated in a book of its history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.