Look Out

By chrisf

Young Buck

Still full of cold, so I am resting up today. Late morning I decided to go for a short walk from the caravan as I thought some fresh air might help.

A herd of fallow deer were resting in the woodland about 100 metres from Holly, watchful as I walked past. The meadow was boggier than I have ever seen it - impossible without wellies, which fortunately I was wearing. There were large clumps of frogspawn in the pond.

I then walked to the adjacent nature reserve - lots of teal and snipe on the sedgy margins of the pools, and lapwings and greylag geese settling in for the breeding season. I talked to R, who I have met before and who looks after the reserve. We had an interesting conversation, he lost his wife two years ago so it turns out we have something in common.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.