talloplanic views

By Arell

Udontastic

I had another office day today because my laptop was being replaced. My knees have been sore the last couple of days, possibly because the cleats on my brown bike shoes are completely worn out and unclipping is graunchy and random.  And because she needed an outing, I took Fidra today.  It was even warm enough for summer gloves!

I was going to go for a walk at lunchtime and take photos but work got in the way and I decamped to the cafeteria instead and tackled Wordle and Byrdle.  In the end I rode home in increasingly squally conditions and had leftovers for tea.

When I first found myself in Birmingham for work, I met up with my friend J and we went to a restaurant called Woktastic.  It was an amazing place, like the entire 1980s had exploded inside a Japanese-American diner.  Because I was so amazingly primitive that I'd only ever had spaghetti or those stir fried, fiddly little Chinese takeaway noodles, I'd never seen udon before: huge, thick worms!  I went to Woktastic every time I was in Brum until they started demolishing the Paradise Forum, starting with the old Central Library, and with it went the restaurant.  I heard tell that afterwards, the owner set up another restaurant called Yakinori, but I've not been back in town for a good few years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.