ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Molen van Piet', Alkmaar

Pete's Mill!  Pete, whoever he was, bless his soul, is no longer the owner, of course.  That honour now belongs to the Municipality of Alkmaar

Alkmaar is another town famous for its weekly public cheese market.  However, because it is so far north, actually going there for the express purpose of watching the cheese market like all the other tourists would mean leaving the house at an ungodly hour to make sure I don't get snagged in traffic.  Either that, or spend the night in Alkmaar.  As AW hasn't been to the cheese market either, we could plan on doing this the moment we are 'able' to.

Pete's Mill was constructed in 1769, so now it's more than 250 years old.  Perched on a small hill right in the ancient city centre.  It's now a residence but there's a museum inside as well.  Parking was next to the old church, strictly forbidden but I saw cars there, so I assumed it was okay.  A thickly buttered parking ticket at the end of my stay but the bill will be sent by regular mail.  Hmph.  The length of my stay was extended unnecessarily by the fact that, for the first time ever, I could not find my car after the photo shoot and spent more than half an hour walking my legs off round and round in search of it.  Knew it was next to the church but where was it?  Oh, THAT church!  

Sunny in patches on the way there, and then full on when I got there, but then, just as I was in position, a cloud floated in front of the sun.  Could not help but laugh.  One of those locations where I could say I was lucky to have passed by while the trees were bare.  It might not have made much of a difference, but then again it might have.  One of those 'grab it while you can' decisions and no looking back.

Before I left, spent an hour in the garden cutting willow branches and putting them in the bin, and then later in the afternoon, an easy walk with AW.  After dinner, he had to leave to fill in for someone else who couldn't make it to Monday evening bridge.  AW doesn't play any more on Mondays, so this was a favour for one of his bridge acquaintances.

It will be a very late night tonight till the wee hours.  After today's activities, I feel hyper.  Might be very tired afterwards, though.  Thankful for a really full day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.