Living my dream

By Mima

Animal antics at the Equinox

I posted my Blip about hens and only then did I remember the Autumn Equinox.

So here is a new photo in my Occasional series of dancing naked on the lawn to celebrate the changing seasons.

Happy Equinox everybody!

The area of lawn around the raised bed with the beans in it is growing lush beautiful grass, thanks to the bed being watered every second day. 

It needed cutting today, and I wasn't game to risk using the lawnmower in case I hit a stone and created a spark (everywhere other than this small patch of grass is crisp dry). So I got out the line trimmer and then raked up the cuttings and gave them to the chooks.

There was great joy and 'bk-bk-bk-ing' in the run as soon as I delivered the first armful of grass, dandelions, clover and all the other deliciousness which makes up the green of my lawn. 

I sat and watched them raking through it all, eating their fill of fresh greenery. 

Then I noticed the wriggly photobomber on the dry lawn beyond in the second extra. She was recovering from an extended game of soccer with much accompanied barking, leaping, and chasing.

These chooks are the healthiest and happiest I've had for a while. 

On the recommendation of a local hen breeder I have changed the feed I give them. It has the highest guaranteed protein levels of all the commercial pellets. I think it is making a big difference. The bottoms up in the first extra say it all: fluffy bottoms = healthy chooks.

Fortunately I buy the new feed at a rural supplier where a friend works, and she very kindly applies her staff discount to my acquisitions, making it not only much better quality, but significantly cheaper.

By the way, I'm collected seven or eight eggs each day. Good girls. And in a shock move I am actually exchanging some eggs for money.

Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.