Living my dream

By Mima

Scales

When I got everything out to mix the sourdough loaves yesterday I discovered that my electronic (and only) kitchen scales had karked it. 

In a moment of amazing clarity I remembered where I'd put the spare battery a few years ago so I put it into the scales, assuming it would get them working again. No such luck. I faffed about for a bit and then decided life was too short.

So I winged it: guessing what 500g of flour looks like, and 13g of salt, and 150g of Sheila (my sourdough mother culture). I could measure 350ml whey still, so at least I had that quantity correct.

The results were two doughs which were wetter than I usually make. I added a bit more flour, but convinced myself (for no apparent reason) that any more than a 'bit' would result in loaves too big for the Dutch Oven, in which I bake them. So I boxed on with sticky dough. 

The loaves rose beautifully and seemed to bake just as well first thing today. I gave one to G when I went to garden with her this morning, and warned her I wasn't sure how good it would be given the guesswork I'd used. 

Just after I left her place she sent me this photo of a slice of said loaf which she was tucking into for her lunch. She reported that it was the most tasty, airy and moist bread I've ever given her and please can I repeat it next time.

I will certainly change my ratio of dry to wet ingredients slightly in future, because when I got home and tried the other loaf I'd baked, it too was extra-good.

And when I'm in town next week I shall find a set of mechanical kitchen scales to replace the electronic ones. That'll teach me to go high tech...

Bean practiced her football skills again this afternoon. Her nosing heading abilities are remarkable. While barking. And off the ground.

We had an exciting time looking for cattle in a friend's property later on. There were plenty of fresh cowpats and damage to fruit trees and native plantings, but of the beasts themselves not a sign. 

Are they great at camouflage and silence, or had the farmer rounded them up and whooshed them away already? We may never know...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.