Gaia's Child

By maura143

First Hummer

Happy First Day of Spring! And what a way to celebrate! I heard him before I spotted this little boy Ruby-throated hummer. He buzzed from our winged elm to the bottle brush tree and back again. Thankfully I had my camera in my hands and was able to fire off a few shots before he took off in search of additional nectar sources. I went right inside to prepare some sugar water for the feeder, even before I took a close look at these photos. Do check the *extra for another shot of this little beauty! The males arrive before the females to scope out the area. I expect to see the females within the next couple of weeks. So, get out your feeders and cook up some 'nectar' (1:4 sugar to water and NO RED FOOD COLORING!) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.