HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Hakkapeliittain kotiinpaluu statue, Lahti

What is Hakkapeliitta? 
it's a Finnish horseman who served in the Swedish army during the Thirty Years' War, equipped with a sword and two cavalry pistols, as accessories a helmet and leather armor.



Kotiinpaluu = homecoming.



The monument is a tribute to Finnish (cavalry) soldiers, and also serves as a symbol of the Finnish spirit and the will to defend the country.



The monument forms one of the three well-known point-de-vue highlights of the garden design on the line, which also includes the Lahti City Hall designed by Eliel Saarinen on the tops of small hills, and the Cross Church designed by Alvar Aalto.


Took the picture after the 2,5 hour MRI session.



It was hard. I had called their customer service and asked if I need to be deep in the "tunnel". No they said.



Well, I didn't when they scanned the knees. It took 4 scans to get 3 good pictures. On the left it took 9 scans to get 3 good pictures. The room was cold. Apparently it has to be for the machine. I was at times trembling of cold so it was really hard to stay still. Also my left leg had some "inner lightning" going on which twitched the leg. It felt hopeless. The liquid in my knee moved by itself due to gravity. It was hopeless.

Then the hips. 40 minutes in the tunnel. I DID IT. I was so concerned about wasting all money and not getting any result. I just kept my eyes shut on concentrated on breathing. The hips were also better secured to the platform, so that helped too. 8 good pictures with 8 scans. Now I just wait few days for the statement.



And in the mail today I got an invitation to the central hospital to meet with a surgeon on 22nd of May. To meet a surgeon is quite scary, so I'm actually happy that I now have the statement coming my way and I can still get the second opinion and then I have this surgeon meet in the back pocket. Or if I don't need it, I can just cancel it.



After the ordeal with the MRI I've felt exhausted and shivering. Tomorrow I'll  go to A's for 5 hours and then I do some homework with L. 


And then it's the funeral Friday next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.