Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Harp

Back at the Howard Assembly Room, and I’d completely forgotten I’d booked a front row seat. I had an end on view of Cerys Hafana’s harp, which was instructional in terms of technique, but possibly not the best angle for this photo. 

Cerys was great, and is doing really experimental and innovative things with her music. Although I am not (much of) a Welsh speaker it is always good to hear music, song and performers from my homeland. I also had a bit of a childhood trauma involving penillion singing (solo, accompanied by a harp) on stage in a school eisteddfod, and it kind of helped me process that :-)

There was also a more straight ahead folk set from duo Emily Portman and Rob Habron.

Unfortunately a broken down train at Apperley Bridge meant I had to take a long way home via Bradford, but at least I did get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.