Keith B

By keibr

Woodwork

I'm sitting here after dinner with a rather tired body, and part the reason for that is in the picture. I've been working with wood - fuel for the log burner next winter.
After the forest behind the house was felled the big logs, basically the tree trunks, were taken away to be processed into timber, pulp etc. The rest of the tree, and even some smaller whole trees were left lying on the ground. After chatting to the owner of the forest we could go in and collect such bits and pieces and after a half-day's work we had a small pile of logs and shorter pieces of broken trunks. I say a small pile but the wood in this picture represents about 10% of what we collected, and in turn that was maybe 20% of what is lying around.
So, lots of wood available but limited energy for carrying it across to our garden, sawing it into 28cm logs, splitting the logs, carrying the split wood to our log shed, 100m away, and piling it up to dry out over the spring, summer and autumn. Suddenly I'm feeling my 73 years of age!  But at the same time this is what keeps me fit and healthy! And I do enjoy it!
I took a couple of long breaks from the work and in one of them Jan and I drank tea and ate the last of Jan's delicious scones. In the other break I removed the cover from the roof of the camper van and sorted out the various protective blocks and mats, and made sure some important cables were no longer under the camper but behind it.  In principal 'Arry is ready to roll, though it may be a week or two before we take our first trip of the season.
Tonight it will be early to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.