Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In search of coltsfoot

At this time of year, I always hope to see coltsfoot flowers. Today I walked in Acomb woods and found two plants close to the river on very poor ground. They really do like inhospitable sites.

The reason for the search? Many years ago I showed one to my walking friend, Mike. From then on he called every yellow flower a coltsfoot, knowing this would both irritate and amuse me.

I find coltsfoot every March in memory of Mike.

The person who would have enjoyed seeing today’s wildflower images, and who would have proof read my Blip entry, is no longer here. It feels very strange.

It was also strange to go to Acomb Woods today and to have a leisurely walk. There was no need to rush home to administer the hourly eye drops!

More lovely messages today. I was particularly touched to hear about friends who are making a long journey to come to the funeral.

Christine and Henry came with flowers and chat.

I made a beef stew.

I was in bed at 8, expecting to post my blip, but fell asleep. As a result, I’m back blipping during the night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.