This is the day

By wrencottage

Thoroughly Spoiled

I had an unexpected parcel delivery this morning containing this circular box which looked for all the world to me like a hat box! It came from from Betty’s in Harrogate and contained a birthday fruit cake, some Florentines, Yorkshire shortbread and Betty’s tea bags. The enclosed gift card said it was from my Godson and his brother and was a joint birthday and thank you present for producing the funeral service sheets and thank you cards. I was blown away, not only by their generosity and kindness, but also by the contents of the box (and the box itself, which I shall put to good use!).

Not long afterwards the doorbell rang again, and this time it was my Godson’s brother, who had come to collect all the items for the funeral. Smithers made a pot of tea and we each sampled one of the Yorkshire shortbread biscuits, which simply melt in the mouth. (I thoroughly recommend them!)

Once all the printed matter had been duly handed over and had left the house I was able to spend the rest of the day very leisurely, just giving myself a chance to relax a bit after a hectic few days.

It has to be said that quite a bit of (very hesitant, not always accurate) piano playing took place and it only stopped when the iPad battery ran too low. (I’m teaching myself using an iPad app recommended by fellow blipper Rainette.) I went downstairs to Smithers with an ecstatic look on my face, feeling so thrilled to have been playing (with two hands!) quite a few simple tunes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.