pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Would you be surprised

if I said it was a busy Saturday? Of course you wouldn’t.

Just 2 of us at home this weekend with Henry away in Wales. So we had a lie in, and a slow morning. Blueberry oat pancakes has become our regular Saturday breakfast, and with the sunny if not a little windy weather, we enjoyed it in the conservatory. It was warm. I had plain Greek yoghurt, honey and pumpkin and sunflower seeds. A tasty breakfast which set us up for the day.

Jon spent the rest of the morning next door filling the holes in the kitchen, plus cracks in the bedroom and bathroom so that we can start painting. Still another fill to do in the kitchen but I have bought bathroom paint, so will be able to get started on that this week.

We had coffee in the French Quarter. Although it was actually quite cool, we decided it was time to get out there. It was bright, and sheltered at the bottom of the garden.we both had woolly hats!!

I planted my strawberries in the garden. It is my last attempt at growing strawberries successfully. They’ve been moved a few times, so fingers crossed. Updates in the summer (if I remember)

After lunch, Jon went back next door while I started on a project I’ve had in mind for ages. To make new seat pads for my dining room chairs, from upcycled fabric. It used to be mum’s old sofa covers. I also kept the stuffing cushions which are feather, and made an inner which I filled with feathers. It was very messy and I needed Jon to get me a mask as the air was full of it. I sort of finished one cushion. I need to sew up the hole and make ties for it, but it is ok. Not brilliant. Just 5 more to do. I like reusing things and will be glad to have used the fabric, and the feathers! Even though it made a huge mess and I have feathers everywhere!!

Late afternoon we decided to go down to the sea for a walk. Drove to Cromer, and parked right up at the top of the cliff overlooking the sea, then walked down to the sea and along the front. The sea was coming in, and quite vigorous with waves coming over the wall. I love just watching the sea when it is that alive!

We had a long walk and ended up on the pier for tea/coffee and flapjack. Then home via arcades where I played on my favourite machine and won two prizes with my £2.20 play. Jon was very patient with me! Then we grabbed a Morrisons Chinese to cook at home.

A nice relaxed evening under a blanket with a big bag of popcorn and Beyond Paradise on tv.

More of the same tomorrow:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.