The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Chops away!

I am reading about about digital minimalism. It's possible I'll be around here even less often over the next month.

Went to Cheltenham by bus to meet friend D in a bookshop, where I bought the above-mentioned book. Went to Hotel Chocolat because D somehow felt I'd been cheated of a birthday present because I hadn't wanted chocolates last time I met him! Chose a box of chocolates. The things we do for others! Went to a new Greekish restaurant in Bennington street. It's very nice, but not a taverna, which I think is what D was hoping for. 

Had far too many lamb chops. D had pork souvlaki, and took some home in a box. Went to cinema to see Wicked Little Letters. I wasn't convinced by all the swearing but I thought Timothy Spall, Olivia Colman and Jessie Buckley played their roles well. It's what I used to call a Sunday-afternoon film. (Before we spent our Sundays stopping up mouse-holes, that is. When we were a bit more laid back on a Sunday).

Caught the bus back. Saw D onto his bus. He is so doddery these days, it's awful. On my return journey, I saw a golden cloud shaped like a flying saucer hanging over Matson, a less-than-affluent suburb of Gloucester. Unfortunately, whatever their reasons, the aliens decided not to land there, and the cloud moved on. Eat your heart out, Neil Young. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.