Number147

By Number147

Sunday

Nigel came round early and we planted the apricot tree together.

It came from his patio and had become too big. I hope it survives the move because Nigel had to hack through roots to dig it up.

I have owned two 2CVs and they were great fun. Five drove by me and parked in  the lock carpark. Had they parked in a row, the photograph would have been more interesting but I was delighted to see them anyway.

My first was a yellow and black Charleston. You could not miss it but a massive Renault hit it on a notorious crossroad this side of Box and wrote it off. Somehow, my boyfriend and I were unscathed but the car was destroyed.

I bought another. This time burgundy and black. I used to drive it to Bristol every weekend when I first met Clive. (He didn't own a car or house while I had both! I always tell him that he landed on his feet when he met me.)

Lucy borrowed it to move from Birmingham when she finished university. She got a company car soon after.

The roof rolled back. That summer of 1989, when I met Clive was beautiful. I always associate my 2CV with those heady days of first being truly in love.

No rain (yet) today. I plan to spend this afternoon in the front garden.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.