Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The first cut is the deepest

After last night's not believing him when he barked at the back door, I felt I had to get up this time. Twice. 1am and about 3am. Each time I followed him round, not wanting him to eat grass. He wasn’t sick out in the garden. He was sick in the hall. And he was sick in the kitchen.

JR took him out first thing and declared that all was well, then she went off to her gym sessions. Archie and I sat out in the sun, only the second time this year so far. We popped out for a walk, and he had a wee bit of cooked kumara... and half an hour later, he was sick out in the front garden. Actually, just as Marsha came to say hello to him. Dougal also came by and stopped for a chat. Elizabeth also walked by, on the way to her brother's house. Each time, Archie seemed on good form.

He then came and helped me cut the grass. Yes! The first cut of the year. He's not really much help, just stands in the way, but I was pleased he'd taken an interest. Though tail’s not up, note… and yes, it was a bit cold, but I had discarded a few layers by the time I finished.

JR took him out in the afternoon, all fine. I rang the emergency vet to ask for advice. Stomach upsets usually last a couple of days. 'Try giving him some chicken' er, no - he's sick on that! 'Boiled fish?' Actually, he's not interested in food, so we'll just leave it, and fingers crossed for tomorrow. 

Actually, fingers crossed for tonight...

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.