Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

After the gym, JR needed to go into town to pick up a new pair of trousers that were being altered, free of charge, in one of her favourite shops. And so Archie went with her. It’s a good walk for him, in and out to town, and he loves the shops. 

I was going to go part of the way with them, but when we got near the Red Box (about two minutes away) I began to tire (how convenient…) and decided to pop in there instead. Archie on the other hand, as we neared the cafe, changed to the outside edge of the pavement and put all his strength into pulling JR past the scary doorway. He did NOT want to go in there. And so we parted company. It’s better if they walk by themselves - they needed to go fast through the Meadows - it wasn’t at all warm, so not conducive to dawdling.

Tosca and her parents pawrents (thanks, Nicky) were having lunch, but I didn’t join them, I wanted to listen to my audiobook and/or browse Twitter (and I didn’t want to intrude on their lunch). I had a strawberry croissant and a coffee. Nice.

I browsed ‘Sam Neil’, checking out his new book, and I found that several years ago, he’d done a whole series about Captain Cook’s voyages in the South Pacific. This I wanted to see! But it’s ‘not available’ now. However, after a bit of searching, I did find it, and watched the second programme, which was about his arrival in NZ, sorry, Aotearoa. Very interesting - he even got a tattoo.

Daily news from Hazel in Japan. Sounds wonderful! They visited Hiroshima today, then bullet trained back to Kyoto, with a bento box lunch. Their daily step counts are astronomical.

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.