Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Went round to pick up Pip this morning - his parents have been away on holiday, and he’s been at a friend’s house for a week. We went for a walk to the Links. JR took them out again in the afternoon. 

We then put Pip back in his house about 5pm - his dad was home at 6 o’clock, so not long on his own - and Archie went down the road to visit Dougal for the evening, for we were going out to the pub. Not just to the pub, but to a Pub Quiz evening with a couple of JR’s gym pals. I was invited, not for my general knowledge prowess, but because they needed to make up the numbers, as people kept not being able to go.

Actually, it was good fun. Except, of course, for the MUZAK. We went a bit earlier to have tea there (and a very nice meal we had too), but the music blasting out was the worst I’ve ever heard. Not music, actually - just NOISE. In fact, I used Google’s ‘identify a song’ function, so I know exactly what the NOISE was: Snoop Dog and Chemical Brothers are ones I can remember.

The pub was absolutely mobbed - it’s obviously a popular night, with a lot of regular teams. JR and I did not contribute much, but the other two lassies in the team were very good, and we weren’t last! 

Photo by Christine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.