ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Road Cases

When I bought the mixer, I thought it would be nice to have some sort of case or bag to keep it in. The top notch flight case companies were ruled out on the grounds that the case would cost more than the mixer! Then I saw that the big German musical instrument and accessories firm, Thomann, did a case to fit my mixer for £47. Not a bad price, but the £10 delivery cost bumped the overall cost into the “not really worth it” category.
So I started to think laterally. An order of over £149 qualified for free delivery. I was going to buy upgraded pickups and new strings from my usual shop - R & T Music - but now I looked to see if I could get these from Thomann, and how much they would cost. And the pleasantly surprising answer was, not only did they stock them, but they were cheaper than I could buy in the U.K.
So I put in an order for pickups, strings and the mixer case, which qualified for free delivery. Very impressive service as well - my last purchase from them was in 2012 but they still had all my details on file, which made everything very straightforward. And considering that previous order was when we were in the EU, and this one was post-Brexit, I noticed no difference in the way the transaction was processed. And the speed was pretty impressive - five working days from order to delivery. I’ve ordered stuff from Manchester before now that took longer than that to arrive!
So, how much do I now believe the case cost me? Well, the pickups were £22 cheaper and the strings £8 cheaper. And I avoided the £10 delivery fee due to the overall value of the order. Which means the £47 case only cost me £7. I reckon that’s a bargain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.