ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Ticket To Ride

Took the bike for its MOT today and I’m pleased to say it passed…eventually! Considering it’s only covered 2,300 miles in the five years I’ve owned it, I was quite surprised to be handed a “Fail” certificate as well as a “Pass” certificate.
The tester explained that the headlight beam was set too high, which automatically triggered a “Fail - immediate rectification required” notification. All he had to do was loosen a couple of bolts, adjust the headlight and re-tighten the bolts. Only thirty seconds work to correct the issue but you can’t stop the automated system issuing the “Fail” certificate apparently! No idea how it’s happened - I’ve only done 300 miles since the last MOT! I suppose it’s possible the bolts were a little loose and the headlight got knocked in the garage over the winter. Whatever, all is now legal for a summer of riding. And I’d really like to try and cover more than 300 miles this year, otherwise I shall have to think very seriously about whether or not it’s actually worth having a bike.
One good thing though. For the first time in five years of owning this bike, today was the first time I’ve taken it for a service and/or MOT and not been caught in heavy rain either on the way there or on the way home. Still cold though, but I’ll take that over getting wet, any day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.