ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Perfectly Good Guitar

After leaving the band at the end of last year, I decided I wasn’t really that attached to my Jaguar Bass, despite all the upgrades I’d done to it. Time for a new project, and I decided that this time I’d go down the Precision Bass route.
But I really needed to do it on a budget, so the source guitar needed to be something from the lower end of the market, but which was basically sound. Thankfully, R&T Music were only too happy to oblige and I agreed a swap of the Jaguar for this Squier Sonic Precision Bass. There was even enough left over for the first upgrade part - a Fender Himass bridge.
The Squier is a “perfectly good guitar” as it is but it also makes a perfect base for a few upgrades. The neck is the slim profile that I like, but the finish left a bit to be desired. Half an hour with the wet and dry paper this afternoon and it’s now as smooth as silk. The bridge has been fitted as have a set of strap locks. I’m leaving the tuners as they are for the time being as they seem to work reasonably well, and can always be upgraded later if needs be.
So that just leaves the upgraded pickguard, strings, pickups and electrics to fit and then it’ll be off to R&T for a proper set up (I know my limitations!)
Watch this space for further updates…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.