ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Castle Walls

A spur of the moment trip to Penrith today. I’d planned on carrying on with the build of the project guitar and had already ordered some new tuning pegs from eBay whilst having breakfast. And, yes, I know I said yesterday that I wasn’t planning on changing the tuners but I woke up in the middle of the night thinking about it and decided that it wasn’t worth spoiling the ship for a ha’porth of tar. Or spoiling the guitar for thirty quids worth of Wilkinson tuners if you prefer.
But they wouldn’t arrive until next week, so I was easily persuaded to abandon the project for today when Mrs C said she fancied going up to Penrith for a bit of a look around and - more specifically - a coffee from Tim Hortons and some goodies from Cranstons Food Hall. I think we got the best of the weather whilst we were out and it was quite pleasant in the sunshine. I’d always thought Penrith Castle would make a decent blip so I made the effort to wander back up the road and grab a few photos after we’d been to Cranstons.
And for tea tonight I had a slice of Ullswater Pie with a selection of salads - absolutely delicious! Best of all, there’s enough left over for the same again tomorrow or Saturday.
Weirdly, although I don’t work any more, I’m actually looking forward to a four day “break” over Easter. I guess old habits die hard…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.