Winsford

By Winsford

Glaschu

Down in my home city - albeit in the West End rather than the South Side - for book group hosted by Laura Muir.

There were only four of us tonight and whilst we missed the others we engaged in our usual wide ranging conversations including discussion of the book.  

Laura had selected 14 days  edited by Margaret Atwood and Douglas Preston with contributions from a plethora of authors. The book is essentially a collection of short stories in the form of tales recounted by inhabitants of a New York apartment block in early days of covid. The premise is interesting but in the end I was disappointed - there were too many voices and I'm not sure how/if they connected. 

Laura provided a wonderful meal with arancini, asturian stew and potatos and the best cup cakes ever. A really lovely evening. 

My journey down was straightforward - there was the usual shenanigans with the Citylink Bus tracker which indicated bus would be an hour late and then not trackable when it fact it left and arrived on time. It was raining in Glasgow and I got the subway - first time I'd be on it for years. This involved loading my NEC with credits for tickets - a new experience. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.