JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Wheedling

J is good at wheedling, though these days it doesn't happen too often. This week, she decided she should have hot cross buns. I like them too, and we usually buy some the week before Easter, but I've been looking at the list of ultra-processed ingredients, which we've been trying hard to avoid as far as possible (and J already bypasses this policy when it comes to chocolate and cream soda), and vaguely wondering if I might make some, though the recipes looked quite a faff - I've rarely attempted sweet dough, and generally avoid anything involving a long list of steps. I was therefore both delighted and grateful to smell the sweet spiced baking drifting from the early morning kitchen. P had never tried these before, and they are his own version, not a classic hot cross bun recipe, but they are delicious - a wholemeal, slightly sweetened dough with plenty of dried fruit, spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. They were a wonderful breakfast treat, served warm and buttery. 

Unfortunately the sunny morning turned to heavy rain by mid-afternoon, so the planned walk following my appointment at Hythe (and the seaside photo opportunities) had to be abandoned. I was glad that, halfway through my bun, I'd thought to take a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.