Flowers on my table

These are the flowers and twigs I picked in the garden yesterday. I love having some flowers or foliage indoors and am trying to get into a better routine of bringing in whatever we have. I was also inspired by looking again at Winifred Nicholson's many beautiful paintings of vases or jars of flowers on window sills, with the landscape beyond. A couple of weeks ago, when I was supporting J at her online Art Talk on the theme of colour and mood, I shared Easter Monday, with its light, bright vase of golden daffodils and forsythia against a cool and still rather wintery looking blueish landscape outside. I didn't set this up as a still-life photo, I'm no flower-arranger and it's just as it comes with the mess outside the window (work in progress - we're hoping to have a patio there before the end of the summer) and clutter on the table shuffled out of frame, but I'm sitting in front of it now and it brings me joy. 

It's been a rainy day, and J had a difficult night which has left us both exhausted and distinctly grumpy and made it harder than usual to cope with the clocks going forwards, so we've not managed to do much. When the rain paused around five I walked up the hill, just a brisk walk up and back for exercise and air, and I've been trying to help J prepare for an online poetry workshop she's joining tomorrow which, judging by the materials she has received, may prove rather challenging. As an AAC user (who speaks with an electronic communication aid) she generally requests information in advance so that she can compensate for the slowness of putting sentences together on her computer using switch access by having some ideas pre-prepared and key vocabulary programmed. P, as always, has sustained us with good food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.