ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Everyone needs a new chapter from time to time

First of all, thank you so much for the kind words in response to my slightly despairing 5000th blip yesterday. It was hardly the greatest photo, but, in the spirit of blip, it was all I had so it had to do.

Thankfully, today has seen a new chapter, in the sense of a return to Tain. This is the first time we have only been back in Edinburgh for two days before returning to Tain. It certainly does something to one's sense of "home".

I had a busy morning, heading up (by bike, for the first time in ages) to a rather large gathering in the Informatics Forum which I had to leave early in order to go and do a Teams meeting in my office. That finished slightly earlier than scheduled, so I had enough time to eat some lunch at home before walking down to get my hair cut (finally) (after two fire related postponements....). Our final port of call before getting underway to Tain was back in Leith, to pick up the strawberry plants that meles and DaveH have kindly given us for the Tain garden. We may yet feature on blip!

Talking of meles and blip, she has already featured this particular 'new chapter', which is taking some time to take shape. I did think about doing a #leithwalkshop yesterday for my blip day, but that didn't work out in the end. But it remains one of my go to blips.

Anyway, great to be back in the north. We stopped a couple of times. We thought of going to have an (early) pizza in Aviemore at the place where I stopped with the swimming girls a couple of weeks ago when we went to Rothiemurcus, but it was closed. So we used the public toilets opposite and instead pressed on towards Inverness. Bizarrely our sat nav threw a wobbly just as we reached Inverness and only started up again when we stopped (and later restarted) the car when we visited one of the several Tain supermarkets on arrival to find some (shop) pizzas and some wine (since Thursday night in Tain is officially Friday night). As I stepped out of the car, the view of the Dornoch Firth was striking. So was the cold fresh air. It's good to be back again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.