Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

GOOD FRIDAY

Nails pierced your flesh
     Your blood dripped down
          But did I really know how much it cost?

You hung there
     In excruciating pain and agony
          But did I really care how much it cost?

It was my sin
     That kept you there
          But did I really understand why you had to die?

Your love for me
     Was evident as you died in pain;
And three days later
     I KNEW why.....
I did care and
     I did understand.
You were alive
     And so was I!

So as I remember
     the nails
          the agony
               my sin and 
                    your love
I am truly grateful
     And give my life to you
          Because you gave your life 
               so willingly for me.

Written on 15/5/13 and
updated after going to Church on Good Friday, 29/3/24

Last night, while Mr. HCB was out, I listened to Stainer's "Crucifixion" - this is the beautiful anthem, "God So Loved The World",  which always reminds me of what Easter is all about.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.