Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Dawn chorus, unfortunately

Well the corner that we thought Archie had turned yesterday turns out to be more of a cul de sac... he awoke with a start (3am) from his comfy spot on the bed, jumped down, and began licking his wound vigorously. We put his cone on, so that he couldn't reach the wound, but he continued his manic licking (of the inside of the cone) for a long time. We gave him a pain killer and thought he had settled. 

But no. Then he woofed at the back door, and I eventually went out the back with him (4.30am by now - I noted the birds were beginning to wake up and chirp). And he dandered round the perimeter twice (he never goes in the flower beds) had a couple of stretches, and sat down! HE DID NOT NEED OUT! Grrrrrr (that was me, not him).

Elizabeth took him out today, and we popped into town for lunch in a cafe we'd heard good things about, Three Blind Mice, which has a very clever logo. It's mainly pizzas and small plates, and is quite a groovy place, with nice decor, and comfy seats. BUT... the muzak was diabolical!! Yelly, twangy, screechy and far too loud!, it was SO nice in between tracks. The pizzas were great, and when the waitress came to see if we'd like coffees, ' Yes, but we'll go somewhere else where I can hear myself think...' I didn't say.

JR went on into town, but I walked up the Mile and came straight home. It was absolutely mobbed. Of course - it's a holiday weekend end. I'm glad it was nice sunny weather for them, and the many walking tours had HUGE groups.

I caught the two Women's Six Nations rugby games. And I ate my Lindt chocolate bunny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.