Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Well, the anticipation of the steroid injection in my spine was much much worse than the actual event. Phew! 

While I was there, waiting, I got a phone call from the hospital, saying I had to get over for the angiogram as soon as possible, as they didn’t do them in the afternoons, when my A&E arranged appointment was. And so, after the steroid jab, JR drove me over to the hospital. We were behind a bus which was going there, so at the next handiest bus stop, I leapt clambered out and headed for the bus. Actually, a kind pedestrian saw me lumbering along waving my bus pass, and stood by the bus door till I got there!

Another hour or so waiting around, then another big doughnut machine to be inserted into, this time with some dye in my veins. Peculiar sensation! You feel like you might be wetting yourself, and your head and palms suddenly get very HOT for a few seconds. Another wait while the X-rays were checked, but this time, the nice nurse brought me a cup of tea and an eggy sandwich! No blood clots detected. Phew! The upshot (I’ve been having a lot of upshots recently) is that they’ll arrange to check the old ticker, hopefully next week.

When I eventually got out, I had a feeling of freedom after so many hours in waiting rooms in the past two days, so I stayed on the bus and went on into town to have a look at the shoes I think might be good. They don’t have any left! But I ordered a pair online, and can try them next week.

Archie woofed to get out last night about 2am, as he has done most nights for a couple of weeks. I went out with him, and he merely strolled round the garden - didn’t even piddle - and then wandered back in. I have told him the story of the boy who cried WOLF many times before… so he’d better not woof tonight!

There are always different art exhibitions along the long long hospital corridors, often in a side corridor leading nowhere, so I’m sure they’re not viewed as much as they deserve. This series of watercolours was lovely - it was about a metre square (one of several) ‘Plants that heal ‘. I’ve included the info about the artist. (Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.