AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Could've fooled me!

I first noticed this bit of leaf art a couple of weeks ago. I marvelled at the intricate thread webbing, forming the leaves into what looked to me like a flying goose. All kinds of public art, especially small inconspicuous things, pop up around these parts, as if the artist expects the viewer to come across them randomly.

Then last weekend I showed this to my weekly walking chum and she postulated that it was made by an invertebrate, pointing out that leaf wraps, although none looking like flying geese, were all over the tree, including very high up, enough to test the patience of any artist. I came to agree with her. 

My extra shows the same 'goose', plus a couple more 'bird heads' nearby. I've tried researching what ant, spider or grub could have done this, to no avail. Plenty of invertebrates are architects, like the green tree ant of northern Australia, but I could find none that fashions such forms out of leaves.

If anyone can shed some light on what could have made this I'd be happy.

Thanks for hosting JohnEdward. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.