KathyH58

By KathyH58

Sunrise today

Since that park where I took the sunset photos last night was only a 3 minute drive from the inn, I headed back there this morning for some sunrise photos. I should have left about 10 minutes earlier, it was already starting to fade. And there is another nice sunset tonight from home.

I have had a lovely couple of days away. The sun was shining and the temperature today was up to 12 C. Monday I had a walk at Miners Marsh, then stopped to visit a friend that I haven't seen for a couple of years. She had made an Easter meal the day before for her family, so we had some of the leftovers for lunch. From there I drove over to Margaretsville, the across to Port George and Mount Hanley where the Edelweiss Inn is located.

After checking in to the Inn, I walked around the property with the owner and she talked about what she would like to do and what she needed help with. Later in the evening I drew a sketch for her, and will refine it now that I am home.

My next stop was to visit another friend. I'm not sure when I visited her last, but it was more than 5 years ago. When I told her I planned to be in the area and wanted to visit, I never got the house number from her. I knew what road she lived on and approximately where the house was. I drove up and down the road a couple of times, and decided there was only one house it could be, and I was right. It's surprising what the brain can remember. I have known this woman for 50 years, I used to babysit her kids. And I went to her place to watch 'Another World', a soap opera that was on in the 1970's.

This morning, the owner and I had breakfast together. She serves a hot breakfast, there was quiche, roasted potatoes, scrambled eggs, ham, potato pancakes, waffles and fruit. She also brought some pastries that her chef had made for Easter brunch. We discussed my ideas, then walked the property again to refine some of them.

After I left, I stopped to visit another friend, one that I have not seen since high school. She looks after her 93 old father who has dementia, so she doesn't get out much. Her and I are not related, but we share some of the same cousins. She is a published photographer and has won some awards for her photos. Now that she is a caregiver for her father, she only uses her phone for taking photos.

Now, the other big news for today....the financing fell through for the people who had the accepted offer for the mini home I wanted. I had originally offered $210,000 with a home inspection. The other offer was for $215,000 without the inspection. So today, I offered $215,000 with the inspection, and it was accepted! I talked to my mortgage broker after I got home this evening, and the RBC rep is supposed to call me, hopefully first thing tomorrow morning. So it looks like I will be moving anytime after May 15th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.