An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Doodle time...

I can't believe it's April already!  

I get to this time every year and feel as though time is running away with me.  It seems like two seconds since Christmas and now Easter is past.  Whoosh!

D took the Easter decs down today.  They only went up on Friday for Esme visiting. I like my crochet Easter egg bunting.  I would happily leave that up all year :-))

Last week after discovering the watercolour paper I have for Agnes's painting is hot press rather than cold press, I checked the price of Imperial size sheets of cold press and it was almost £80.  Then a couple of days later I realised I had priced the heaviest grade of paper (300lb) so went back and priced the 140lb grade and it was much more affordable so I've ordered that.  Was hoping it would arrive today as I was in a painting mood but I forgot the Bank holiday would delay delivery, so doodled some flowers (loosely based on tulips) instead.  Took about 10 minutes but satisfied the craving to have a paintbrush in hand.

Also started on the final blue squares for the wedding blanket.  Only have six left to do.  Looking forward to getting them joined together and getting the border on.  Need to decide which kind of join I am going to do.  Time is short so I suspect it will be the simplest and faster method.

Chilli for dinner then D went to his group singing rehearsal.  Spoke to stepdad John on the phone.  Between my ill health with my kidney stone and him having a minor operation, we've not seen him and Norma for a few weeks.  Normally they would come here for dinner and stay overnight, but Norma's Alzheimers leads to confusion when she is away from home overnight, so sadly I think overnights here are no longer viable.  Instead we've arranged to take them out for lunch on Saturday.  We will pick them up and go to a restaurant close to them.  Looking forward to seeing them both.

Four years ago tonight we were outside banging pots and clapping for frontline workers during lockdown.  How utterly ridiculous that seems now and how insulting to those we were supposed to be honouring.  How Boris Johnson et al took us all for utter mugs.  It's incredulous and scary how easily we were manipulated.  Pay the keyworkers what they are worth!








 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.