My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

The Survivors............

...............of nearly 30 Cosmos I planted!!! The first 10 I planted survived 2 nights - on the 3rd day, 4 bare stalks only remained. I then planted 10 more - next morning, 5 bare stalks, and yet another 10 - same again 2 days later! This called for drastic action and although I do NOT like using it, my neighbour had some Organic slug Killer which he used for me. The results were not 100% successful but I now do have about 14 growing and beginning to flower as you see. Maybe I should have given up but I do so like Cosmos and they last well in the house as well.

I THINK I am just about ready for the Builders who are supposed to be coming on Tuesday to try to sort out various damp patches in the dining room- I am not looking forward to it! As my regular Blip-pals will probably remember, my little cottage is really little and it is impossible to move furniture from one room to another - they will just have to pull everything into the middle of the room and work round it. The worst of it is I think they will have to remove the old plaster. I have warned them! All my bits and bobs and pictures are now stacked up in the bedroom - heaven help me if I have to get up in the night! Am keeping everything crossed.

The weather has been quite nice today - both sun and cloud but temperature in the low 60s.

Before I close, may I say how horrified I am to learn of the dreadful fires in Arizona where, in dreadful circumstances, 19 brave Firefighters have died - I can do nothing - but my thoughts are with all their families, their colleagues and friends and all those have had to be evacuated from their homes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.