gennepher

By gennepher

Sketch

I was overtired yesterday...those blooming badgers...and went to sleep yesterday evening, but then was awake the rest of the night. Nothing would induce sleep.

I had to do some fridge shopping this morning. By the time I came back I was so tired I went to bed and have been sleeping catching up on sleep.

What happened yesterday, when I went out the kitchen door, I found the badgers had broken my fireguard. I have a very large metal fireguard, protecting some bins, and things which I keep things in them like the recycle bags et cetera, and all this is protected behind the fireguard from the badgers. This has worked no problem for 12 months. I also have bin bags full of junk from the garage that are waiting to be thrown out when there is room in the wheelie. No food or anything edible in them. But the badger/s broke the front of the fireguard, got in and ripped open the bin bags, and scattered the contents everywhere.

It took me the rest of yesterday to clean it up, repair the fireguard with wire. And then I found some bird netting. I never used it on my vegetable garden. But I decided it would be suitable to wrap the fireguard in, and over the tops of the bins. My theory being that it would be awkward/uncomfortable for the badger and his claws.

So, I was drop dead exhausted by last night, and no sleep was not good.

The badgers never touched that area last night, so maybe it worked. But it makes it inconvenient to get at my stuff.

Last night the badgers took the lid off my wormery. And had been trying to get that heavy upturned plant pot out of it, in order to get at the worms. The badgers had obviously tried very hard.

I need to protect my wormery better, but I haven't got any energy at all today. Just thought...I have some army camouflage netting...but where is it? I'm thinking the badger might not like the feel of that in his claws...

It's gone 3 pm. I need to sort that now. And replace the SD cards with fresh ones. And get my recycling bags filled. It is a pain having these stupid bags, they are not badger proof, and I cannot leave them out overnight round here. There is devastation in all the streets round here by the time the dustbin men come to collect the recycling in the morning. I have to make sure they are out by 6,30am to catch the wagon at 7 am. They should have had wheelies for recycling. They did in Liverpool where I lived 20 years ago.

And the wildlife nighttime videos. Here is footage from the night before last, and at the end you can definitely see 4 badgers, two badgers are eyes, but they can be seen going into the area of my kitchen passage, where the fireguard was broken and the bin bags opened. They are the culprits.

Nighttime wildlife video.
4 Badgers running through the night
42 secs
https://youtu.be/0V5i-OLtUCE?si=4nJqCvl28r0OUv9L

Creative, another person wearing a padded jacket, crossing the road.

Make what you can of the rest of your day....

I need a cuppa...with a little extra....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.