WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Vegan Hospital Food!

It doesn’t look good but it was…OK and filled a gap. The fruit pie was nice and I had my own yoghurt with it.
After the op yesterday I was on the ward at about 5pm and they gave me tea and toast. I was soon wide awake. They kept me in overnight as there was a drain in the wound.
I’m happy to say the surgeon managed to remove the offending lump with keyhole surgery.
I spent the rest of the day reading my book till 2am! I wasn’t tired at all but then slept till 4.30 am and then listened to podcasts while dozing. The nurse took the drain out at 6am and then I walked down the corridor to the loo!
I still have no pain, in fact when the surgeon came to see me earlier I asked him if he’d actually done the op!
I feel great and now I am waiting to be discharged but they are taking their time turfing me out. You’d think they’d want the bed.
The staff here are all lovely and we’ve had some good chats and laughs.

I was thinking whilst lying here how lucky I am to be in a comfy, cosy hospital bed, operation done, meals and cuppas brought to my bedside while in Gaza patients lie among the rubble of bombed out hospitals, with the dead and dying next to them and with no food or water to give them the strength to heal.

I will be taking things easy for a while when I get home - reading and drawing.

Thank you all for the kind wishes, stars and hearts yesterday- what a lovely bunch Blippers are ;-D X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.