Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The Olde Days

The first day of the holiday! A mixed forecast, but it was dry and bright when I caught the bus to Hampton Court Palace to meet fellow Blipper Jenny Michell, who very kindly took me in as a guest on her membership!

We spent some time in the house, in particular the kitchens, then toured the gardens. Very colourful displays of bulbs and many other plants - thank you Jenny! This is my Blip today.

I was then picked up by my sister and we drove to the cafe in the Pheasantry Woodland Garden in Bushy Park where we had lunch. I worked in this Woodland Garden for a few years, more than 50 years ago! Good to see herons - my extra today - which were fairly unbothered about us and a fox who was skulking about in the undergrowth.

On the way back we called in to see a former classmate of mine from Thames Valley Grammar School some 60 years ago. She was looking a little older (!) but I still recognised her! Pleased to see that she was also a keen gardener and I had a tour of her garden as well as cake and cups of tea!

Quote of the Day: 'I love everything that's old - old friends, old times, old manners, old books, old wine.' - Oliver Goldsmith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.