LIFE!!!

By greengirl

the bearer

I've been aware for some time that my passport is about to run out. I'm not planning any trips abroad, but I like to have a current passport just in case, and in the absence of a plastic drivers' licence, it's my only form of photo ID.

I remember the days when you had to fill in a lengthy form, take a physical photo and find a friendly professional to countersign your application. Thankfully the process is a lot more simpler now - a quick selfie uploaded with a few details, and Apple Pay £82.50. All done in the space of less than 15 minutes. I did have to walk down to the postbox to send my old passport back, but I was going out with Jess anyway.

This photo is from my very first passport. I suppose I would have been on my parents' one before that, but in 1974 I was going abroad without them, on a music cruise on the SS Uganda. It must have been quite a lot of money for my parents to part with at that time, to send me away for two weeks, but it was a formative experience and I remain grateful to them to this day.

I'm sad that my new passport won't be an EU one. Maybe in 10 years' time, things may have changed for the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.