pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Surprise afternoon out!

We had plans to work next door all day today, but sometimes things happen that make us reassess priorities, and that happened today. We were offered some tickets to see a matinee show at Norwich Theatre Royal. No one else was free to take them up (I offered Mollie first dibs) but secretly I was thinking I’d love an afternoon out with Jon at the theatre.

We still had time for our ‘regular’ blueberry pancake Saturday breakfast, in the conservatory. Guess what, I had yet another move around in there on Thursday. If I’m not moving furniture in my office, I’m doing it in the conservatory. Desperate to maximise the space because I’m never 100% happy with it. But at least with the nice weather coming, I can be outside more. Then I don’t feel the issue with the lack of room indoors.

Jon went next door and started painting. First coat on the bathroom ceiling and one bedroom. I did some washing, cleaned the kitchen floor, then washed up before joining him to tackle a large very old (20+ year) tea or coffee stain on the bedroom carpet. I hoovered and had one go at the stain. It was definitely getting a little bit better and I’ll have another go tomorrow!

We dressed up a bit, I made some sandwiches and we went in to Norwich. Park and ride then sat at the market to eat our sandwiches. Jon wanted to look in a shop a little way out of the city, and we just had time to walk there and back before the show.

Calendar Girls the musical! It was a really good show. A full audience of mostly women, and plenty of applause. All of the cast were great singers, the music original and well done on a stage. Brave ladies having to strip off on stage for their photos, as per the original film but very tastefully done.

We came out feeling really happy. It was such a shame that my friend wasn’t well enough to see the show, but so grateful she thought of us. As you will all remember the reason for the film was to raise money for a hospital who had treated the husband of the main character who had died of cancer. After the show, they were collecting in the foyer for Blood Cancer research. Another cancer that has touched our family, so we gave generously.

We wandered back through the city, getting a cup of tea at Marmalades just before they closed.

We got home about 7. Jon cooked tea while I did some writing. I managed another 800 words tonight and my total is now 26,800. I’d like to reach 30,000 by the end of the weekend if I can as I have just hit a pivotal point. It shouldn’t be difficult.

Now sitting down to find something on tv for the evening…it might have to be Netflix

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.