pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Another project…

…and just when you get used to one blip a week, I go and do 2 in a row!!
We had a lot on our lists today. Definitely wasn’t a day of rest, and looking back I could do with a weekend now to get over it!

I started by making a list. Seeds to plant - that was a quick win, and so cucumbers, mange tout (second lot as the first all got dug up by mice on the allotment) more courgettes as the others have not come up, and more aubergines - the same. I suspect it was just too cold - even though they were in the house. Fingers crossed I get a few.

Then I went next door to clean the stain on the carpet. I’m pleased with the end result as it is so much better than I thought it would be. Tea stains after so many years don’t usually come out. Jon painted the bathroom ceiling and the bedroom ceiling. He had the paint to do the walls so that is tomorrow evening’s job.

I’ve been cutting up the fabric from very old sofa cushion covers from my mums old sofa, to upcycle as pads for my chairs. Her sofa came from Harrods many many years ago, and when the sofa died, the cushions were put in her loft. I disposed of them last time I was in Hoddesdon, but took off the covers. I also kept the end cushions which were feather filled, with the idea to use the feathers. I did one a few weeks ago - you may remember me in a mask. It made such a mess, I decided to hold off doing any more until I could do it outside. So I had made all the ‘inners’ during the week, and today I stuffed them. Such a messy job. The garden looks like there has been a pigeon massacre. I then unpicked 6 long bits of zip from the covers, and cut them to the length I need for each cushion. End result I’ve filled all 6, finished one completely and part way through 2nd. I’ll do them in the evenings. Suffice to say I didn’t manage any writing, with a roast to cook and a little bit of weeding. That is what I would like to have done more of. Henry cut the grass in both gardens and Dan came for roast dinner with us.

Jon and I took a quick walk to the allotment and now relaxing. I think I’ll leave my writing for now. I’m still on track…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.