lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

A Love Song that She Made

Looked out my door this morning:
Gracie's cherry tree covered in blossom -
When did that happen?
The blackbird that lives in our Lane perched there,
Its mate hopping around the ground
Love their joyous chattering.
Swallows silently swooping
Storks flying smoothly up the valley
Ignoring our invitation to nest here.
Banks of purple and deep pink bugloss
And then! poppies amidst the yellow (in extra)
Amidst our as yet uneaten (by Jaime's sheep) grasses.
Scent of orange and grapefruit blossom
And jasmine, still, climbing the fence.
The loquats covered in ripening fruit
So sour if eaten too soon.
And butterflies flitting here and there
Like those woodsprites (atokirina) on Pandora.

I can't take a photo good enough for you to see
And I can't do a nature song like it's meant to be
I can't do everything, but I'd do anything to share with you
I can't do anything except use these words so few
Sharing the beauty that greets me this day
Even though the sky, with Saharan dust, is grey.

Gratefuls:
- dirt covered onions and potatoes from Maria's garden
- baking smells of butter and vanilla
- palest pink and purple post sunset (has the dust left already??)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.