Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A walk in the park

I had intended to visit an old friend for lunch today, probably my oldest friend as it happens. Although he's younger than I am, a few years ago he had a stroke which has left him with various difficulties, so he asked me to phone him this morning to see how he was and I found, unfortunately, that he wasn't feeling up to it - on the cusp, he said. His wife was also feeling less well than usual, so my visit was postponed.

As my sister was looking after two grandchildren this weekend we decided to go to the play area in Bushy Park, so while they were engaged in swings and roundabouts I went for a pleasant wander around with my camera.

My Blip today is of a couple of fallow deer stags, one a little paler than the other! Nearby was a large conglomeration of fallow hinds - see extra - and some idiot let his dog off the lead and off it went, setting the whole herd racing off in a panic. Some people!

After a picnic we took the children back home and came back for a leisurely evening at my sister's.

Quote of the Day: 'One day ladies will take their computers for walks in the park and tell each other 'My little computer said such a funny thing this morning.' - Alan Turing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.