carliewired

By carliewired

57 F/ 14 C

With high cloud and some
rain to come, I doubt that we 
will see the eclipse

~carliewired

I made it a very quick jaunt this morning. I was out the door at 7:30 and on my way to McArthur Island on the north shore.

I was focused on the north side of the park around the slough. There were a few pairs of Canada geese who seemed strangely quiet. Most of the bird population was ducks. My delightful surprise was finding the wood ducks had returned. They are such elegant birds! 

The slough has very little water and what there is looks very unclean. Feeding did not seem to be the ducks'  interest. They were following each other around and making ducky noises. 

At one end of the foot bridge a large, sprawling tree hangs over to the water's edge. Often ducks come up under it. A lovely pair of mallards did just that. Something small and red in the tree branch caught my attention. A fishing bob was tangled at the end of a branch. Who brings a fishing pole to a duck pond? 

I made the loop over to the south side of the park when a solitary marmot caught my eye. He looked startled when I rolled down my window to get this shot. No sooner done than he scampered away and down the bank towards the river.

I'm in with more paperwork to keep me busy today. Just as well on a grey day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.