Bom

By Bom

House Proud

I happened to look on the bird box nest cam after lunch and saw that the blue tit had bought in 3 feathers and a rather large leaf. As I was doing some admin on the laptop all day, I watched her building the nest. Most of the time she’s only out for a few seconds before bringing back more moss, then she carefully decides where to place it and stands in the middle and uses her wings to sweep it up into the corners. The middle will be the softer part where she lays the eggs one per day and then sits on them until they hatch. It wasn’t used last year, but looking back on blip in 2022 she’s about 2.5 weeks later to start building. In 2022 she laid lots of eggs and started sitting on them on 20th April, so fingers crossed. I took this photo after only 2 hours of nest building, she worked very hard! And she chose a horrible wet and windy day to start. Never great photos of the nest as it comes through to my tv and I take a photo of what is in effect a flickering screen. I’m so pleased she’s at least building a nest. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.