SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Convergence

Today I was supposed to start marking and reading the draft thesis of my MPhil student M, but I was distracted by addressing a software issue, then by a meeting with И, and then by a visit from my financial advisor. 

After he left, I received data from one of our genetics collaborators, allowing me to experiment with the solution technique that I'd devised recently for the problem that we're working on. It's the sort of task that is enjoyable and exciting - when it works - and by early evening I'd got the data into a bit of C++ and formulated the problem. 

Fun as it was, I'd also enjoyed taking a break to unpack and use the espresso machine that arrived mid-afternoon.

After cooking tea and walking Django, I returned to programming, and implemented the solution technique. It converged much better than I'd dared hope, but I did get to sleep quite late 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.