Capital adventures

By marchmont

Blowing in the wind

Another day when I woke up after the 'witching hour', which for me is 6.45.  I stayed in bed till 8.30 and then after breakfast set off for Cameron Toll, in the rain, what else?  

Sainsbury's was very quiet, caused I surmise by the closure of the Cameron Toll junction for resurfacing.  It still took me ages to find everything I needed.  Then at the self check out it was another random check, probably because I haven't been there for 4 months.  The assistant had to go get the gizmo, then got waylaid by another customer who she chose to deal with rather than return to me, then a full search was required.  She clearly was struggling with the thought of checking 5 items never mind 2 bagfulls so I gave up and headed for a checkout.  Bad move.  Only 2 were open and the only folk who use them nowadays are the untechnical and the old (in actions, not necessarily chronology).  I got behind one of them, who after waiting for 15 minutes in the queue, has all the shopping scanned then starts to look for the payment cards. 

This was all the more frustrating as I had to be at the Manor for a certain time.  I made it with 4 minutes.  But I needn't have worried, the care team were still there.  A later start today.  Did some phone calls to the OT and the doctor and made an appointment with my nurse.  Then the aerial man arrived and sorted the TV in the bedroom.  He tested all the leads and made sure everything worked. Good service.  While he was here Mum and I spoke to #2 who was walking to the community garden.  A year ago he was here. 

But it was after 2 before I got home.  Met up with F next door for the first time since I got back and said hi to Skylar again. And it had stopped raining, but not for long.

I was going to start emptying bookcases but I ended up catching up on all sorts of admin, personal and even a wee bit work.  Then a long call to my cousin D while I thought my dinner was cooking and then I realised I hadn't switched on the rice cooker.  

Maybe tomorrow there will be progress on getting the back rooms sorted.  At least I don't have to go to the Manor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.